University of Oxford Faculty of History


Staff and students in Economic and Social History



Core staff

Brian A'Hearn

Brian A'Hearn

Pembroke College & Economics Faculty

brian.ahearn@pmb.ox.ac.uk

Causes and distributional consequences of long run economic growth in Europe, particularly Italy: institutions, human capital and education, technology, business cycles, banking, cities and regions, anthropometrics, living standards and inequality.

Bob Allen

Bob Allen

Nuffield College & Economics Faculty

bob.allen@nuffield.ox.ac.uk


Agriculture and economic development, property rights and agrarian transformation, the economics of socialism, environmental history, and the divergence in the world economy since the middle ages

Rui Esteves

Rui Esteves

Brasenose College & Economics Faculty

rui.esteves@economics.ox.ac.uk

International finance, institutional economics, and public finance in a historical perspective. "The past has useful economics" and we can use it to draw valid inferences for current debates or to test theories of economic behaviour. I deal with the nature of governance in an international market for sovereign debt, the determinants of capital flows to developing nations, fixed exchange rate pegs and emigrants' remittances. The "first wave of globalisation" before World War One is relevant to the present-day process of international economic integration.

James Fenske

James Fenske

St Antony's College & Economics Faculty

james.fenske@economics.ox.ac.uk

My research focuses on the origins and consequences of economic institutions in rural West Africa. I am interested in land tenure, slavery, the nature of households, and more broadly the economic history of Southern Nigeria.

Knick Harley

Knick Harley

St. Antony's College & Economics Faculty

knick.harley@economics.ox.ac.uk

Computational general equilibrium modelling of the British Industrial Revolution, the nature of the economics of technological change in the British cotton industry during the Industrial Revolution and the economics of the transportation revolution in the globalisation of the late-nineteenth century.

Gregg Huff

Gregg Huff

Pembroke College & History Faculty

gregg.huff@pmb.ox.ac.uk


Finance and development, economics of war, urbanization in developing countries, trade and development, Southeast Asia.


Jane Humprhies

Jane Humphries

All Souls College & History Faculty

jane.humphries@all-souls.ox.ac.uk

-Senior editor of the Economic History Review-

Economic history: growth and development, labour markets. Gender, the family and the history of women's work, from the eighteenth century to the present.


Julie Marfany

Julie Marfany

All Souls College & History Faculty

julie.marfany@history.ox.ac.uk


LIST.


Avner Offer

Avner Offer

All Souls College & History Faculty

avner.offer@all-souls.ox.ac.uk

Personal website


British and Imperial economic and social history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. International political economy (with special reference to war), c. 1870-1920, and rural and urban land tenure. In both of these fields, a secondary interest in law. Well-being, quality of life. Technological change. Public sector, governance. Cognitive bias, emotional incentives, and political inclinations.

Kevin O'Rourke

All Souls College & History Faculty

kevin.orourke@all-souls.ox.ac.uk


The history of the international economy broadly defined: trade, trade policy, migration, international capital flows; historical political economy; comparative economic history; economic growth; the Great Depression.


Deborah Oxley

Deborah Oxley

All Souls College & History Faculty

deborah.oxley@all-souls.ox.ac.uk

The impact of economic change on wellbeing in nineteenth-century Britain, Ireland and Australia: labour markets, microeconomics of the household, gender and ageing, living standards and biological wellbeing, including disease and biometric methods. Also Australian convicts and coercive labour systems, labour markets, colonial economic development, and the history of crime and punishment.




Florian Ploeckl

Nuffield College & Economics Faculty

florian.ploeckl@economics.ox.ac.uk

International trade, economic geography and related institutions in economic history, particularly focused on Germany. My current research investigates the interaction of geography and institutions during Germany's economic unification in the nineteenth century and the impact of the unification process on regional growth and development.



Lecturers and researchers

Harold Carter

Harold Carter

harold.carter@history.ox.ac.uk

Why did the post-war attempt at using collective action to improve conditions in the inner city not achieve greater success? Why did Labour, by the end of the century, lose political control of its heartland areas?

Nicholas Dimsdale

Nicholas Dimsdale (Emeritus)

Queen's College

nicholas.dimsdale@queens.ox.ac.uk

Macroeconomic history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries: economic growth in Britain and monetary and fiscal policy; the international impact of the Great Depression and the postwar golden age.

Oliver Grant

Oliver Grant

St Antony's College

oliver.grant@sant.ox.ac.uk

Economic history of nineteenth century Germany. Published on migration from Germany to the United States; Junker agriculture; Max Weber's analysis of the condition of the agricultural labourer East of the Elbe. Currently working on a comparison of science and education in Britain and Germany.

Carol Leonard

Carol Leonard

St Anthony's College

carol.leonard@economics.ox.ac.uk

Agrarian reform in transition Russia; the internet, and general technological advancement in Russia and Central and Eastern Europe.

Nicola Sheldon

Nicola Sheldon

St Hilda's College

nicola.sheldon@history.ox.ac.uk

History of childhood and education; general social history in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Additional staff / DPhil candidates


Francisco Beltran

Francisco Beltran Tapia

Nuffield College

francisco.beltran@nuffield.ox.ac.uk

Common lands and economic development in nineteenth century Spain.



Anthony Hotson

Anthony Hotson

Wolfson College

anthony.hotson@wolfson.ox.ac.uk

Transnational organisations.


Chris Kissane

Chris Kissane

Balliol College

chirstopher.kissane@balliol.ox.ac.uk

Food and identity

Eric Schneider

Eric Schneider

Nuffield College

eric.schneider@nuffield.ox.ac.uk

Michelle Sikes

Michelle Sikes

Lincoln College

michelle.sikes@lincoln.ox.ac.uk

Kenyan women runners in the twentieth century.



Igor Zurimendi

Pembroke College

igor.zurimendi@pmb.ox.ac.uk

The economics of forced labour throughout history, with particular focus on serfdom in Eastern Europe.

DPhil research students


Peter Anderson

Jesus College

peter.anderson@jesus.ox.ac.uk

The employment relationship on early twentieth-century British railways and its breakdown prior to the First World War, compensating differentials, and power relationships in times of post-contractual opportunism.

Masud Ally

Masud Ally

St Cross College

masud.ally@history.ox.ac.uk

Ethics and economics.

Lise Arena

Lise Arena

Oriel College

The formation and the institutionalisation of the theory of the firm in England since the beginning of the twentieth century.


Kazim Baycar

Kazim Baycar

Linacre College

muhammet.baycar@linacre.ox.ac.uk

The history of nineteenth century population movements in the Ottoman Empire and its social and economic repercussions



Alan de Bromhead

Mansfield College

alan.debromhead@mansfield.ox.ac.uk

The economic impact of the extension of the voting franchise


Ruth Brown

Ruth Brown

St Edmund Hall

ruth.brown@seh.ox.ac.uk

Artistic creativity in twentieth century Britain.

Sarah Campbell

Sarah Campbell

Hertford College

sarah.campbell@keble.ox.ac.uk

New anthropometrics.

Mary Cox

Mary Cox

St Antony's College

mary.cox@sant.ox.ac.uk

Leipzig Black Markets.

Aled Davies

Aled Davies

Mansfield College

aled.davies@mansfield.ox.ac.uk

Economic ideology of 'popular' capitalism in 1980s Britain.



Ellen Feingold

Ellen Feingold

Merton College

ellen.feingold@merton.ox.ac.uk

History of the British empire, particularly the development of legal systems in British territories.

Ferdinando Giugliano

Pembroke College

ferdinando.giugliano@jesus.ox.ac.uk

Estimation and explanation of productivity trends in history; the development of the British economy between the nineteenth and twentieth century and the Anglo-German productivity race.

Claire Higgins

Claire Higgins

Merton College

claire.higgins@merton.ox.ac.uk

Australian Humanitarian Migration policy.


Kathleen Hunter

St Cross College

kathleen.hunter@stx.ox.ac.uk

A sociological analysis of markets: women engineers in Interwar Britain

Agostino Inguscio

Agostino Inguscio

Hertford College

agostino.inguscio@hertford.ox.ac.uk

Medieval commerce.

Kiril Kossev

Kiril Kossev

Nuffield College

kiril.kossev@nuffield.ox.ac.uk

Economic growth and international finance in historical context. Comparative economic history. Sources of finance for development in interwar Southeast Europe. International capital flows and their effect on the host economy.



Kwan Leung Li

Kwan Leung [Richard] Li

Nuffield College

kwanleung.li@nuffield.ox.ac.uk

External economies in financial centres; monetary history of the United States; exploration of New York's financial history; historical developments of securities markets; new economic geography and globalisation.

Alex MacDonald

Alex MacDonald

Balliol College

alex.macdonald@balliol.ox.ac.uk

Economics of space exploration and utilisation; economic history of launch and satellite industries; economic history of the telescope; social and intellectual history of astronomy, invention and innovation; technology transfer.

Dorothy Makin

Dorothy Makin

Green Templeton College

dorothy.makin@gtc.ox.ac.uk

East African colonial welfare and nutrition.

Tom Marshall

Tom Marshall

Worcester College

tom.marshall@worcester.ox.ac.uk

Eighteenth and nineteenth century British economic history.

Hanaan Marwah

Hanaan Marwah

New College

hanaan.marwah@new.ox.ac.uk

Post-independence West African economic development, especially Nigeria; business theory.

Julian McGill

Julian McGill

Wolfson College

julian.mcgill@wolfson.ox.ac.uk

Planning restrictions and their impact on the post war housing market.


Paul Minoletti

Paul Minoletti

Mansfield College

paul.minoletti@mansfield.ox.ac.uk

How labour market competitiveness affects the ability of firms to discriminate against women in Britain, c.1780-1850.

Charlie Pistorius

Charlie Pistorius

Oriel College

charl.pistorius@oriel.ox.ac.uk

Industrial development in China.

Antonia Strachey

Antonia Strachey

Nuffield College

antonia.strachey@nuffield.ox.ac.uk

Caste, public policy and health: Living standards in South India 1910-1980.

Scott Urban

Scott Urban

St Antony's College

scott.urban@sant.ox.ac.uk

Gold in the interwar monetary system: evolution of the gold standard regime.

Rachael Vorberg Rugh

Rachael Vorberg-Rugh

Queen's College

rachael.vorberg-rugh@queens.ox.ac.uk

Nineteenth and twentieth century Britain: gender; working class; cooperative movement; social and economic history.

Caroline Withall

Caroline Withall

Wolfson College

caroline.withall@wolfson.ox.ac.uk

Child labour in port towns.

Second year MPhil students

Elizabeth Betterbed

Elizabeth Betterbed

New College

elizabeth.betterbed@new.ox.ac.uk

Electrical infrastructure and economic growth in developing regions.

Arthur Downing

Arthur Downing

All Souls College

arthur.downing@all-souls.ox.ac.uk

Labour relations and class formation.

Josh Grehan

Josh Grehan

Worcester College

joshua.grehan@worcester.ox.ac.uk

Residential schools and educational outcomes in Canada.

Maria Lacayo

Maria Lacayo

Jesus College

maria.lacayo@jesus.ox.ac.uk

Transnational organisations.


Libby Longino

Wolfson College

libby.longino@wolfson.ox.ac.uk

Libby is studying the Church of England's political and social efforts on behalf of disenfranchised populations in 1980s Liverpool, exploring issues of national religious institutions and the effects of deindustrialisation.

Zach Miller

Zach Miller

Worcester College

zachary.miller@worc.ox.ac.uk

Conflict and development; alternative conceptions of modernity.


Matthew Payne

Matthew Payne

Oriel College

matthew.payne@oriel.ox.ac.uk

Britain and empire in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Mark Uttley

Mark Uttley

St Anne's College

mark.uttley@st-annes.ox.ac.uk

English early modern trade; the effects of the Navigation Acts; the politics and economics of interwar Britain

M.Phi. incoming 2011


Jasper Bittner

Pembroke College

jasper.bittner@pmb.ox.ac.uk

Institutional economics in the 18th century



Parmbir Gill

St Antony's College

parmbir.gill@sant.ox.ac.uk

Migration and colonail rule





Sebastian Huempfer

Wolfson College

sebastian.huempfer@wolfson.ox.ac.uk

The impact of the Allied occupation on the West German economy after World War II





Jake McGraw

Wadham College

james.mcgraw@wadh.ox.ac.uk

The relationship between education and socioeconomic mobility among impoverished communities





Sonya Milanova

Kellogg College

sonya.milanova@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

Unpicking the ‘original intent’ of the United States Article III through English legal thought





Baya Yantren

Kellogg College

laetitia.yantren@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

Economics of war and women's work in Algeria.



M.Sc. incoming in 2011



Vellore Arthi

Merton College

vellore.arthi@merton.ox.ac.uk

Women, Work-Type & Wellbeing in Industrializing Lancashire




Michael Bridgman

Wadham College

michael.bridgman@wadh.ox.ac.uk

The causes and effects of economic and financial depressions, monetary history and the anatomy of early capital formation




Sarah Burnside

Kellogg College

sarah.burnside@kellogg.ox.ac.uk

Nationalism and nationalist movements or modern European, post-colonial and intellectual history




John Calhoun

Oriel College

john.calhoun@oriel.ox.ac.uk

Housing, education, labor, and social welfare policies





Michael Cullen

Oriel College

michael.cullen@oriel.ox.ac.uk

The divergences in growth paths between countries in Development Economics





Shamim Gammage

Balliol College

shamim.gammage@balliol.ox.ac.uk

Measures of welfare amongst black Americans since 1968




Diana Greenwald

Wadham College

diana.greenwald@wadh.ox.ac.uk

19th and early 20th century land policy





Nathan Lenzin

Wolfson College

nathan.lenzin@wolfson.ox.ac.uk

The effectiveness of loans of the World Bank or the IMF




Alice Rawstorne

New College

alice.rawstorne@new.ox.ac.uk

The political and social background of the changing nature of economic relationships between the rich and the poor




Danny Ross

Pembroke College

daniel.ross@pmb.ox.ac.uk

Financial crises in Africa




Ben Stanwix

Trinity College

benjamin.stanwix@trinity.ox.ac.uk

Economic wellbeing at the Cape Colony through the 18th century




Anna Sullivan

Regent's Park College

anna.sullivan@regents.ox.ac.uk

Changing Core Values? Consumerism, technology and other social trends: Their impact on the family unit in Britain 1900-2010




Lukasz Swiderski

St Cross College

lukasz.swiderski@stx.ox.ac.uk

Role of markets in society; 20th century financial history




Romain de Tarle

New College

romain.detarle@new.ox.ac.uk 

State, economy and the Near East




Robin Winkler

Balliol College

robin.winkler@balliol.ox.ac.uk

German economic history between 1929 and 1933 - a micro-sociological analysis of academic institutions



Recent D.Phil. Graduates

Sarah Cochrane

Dr Sarah Hunter nee Cochrane

Formerly at Worcester College

Sarah wrote her DPhil thesis on the effect of the First World War on the British financial services and cotton industries. She now works as a consultant in Oxford.

Katerina Galani

Dr Katerina Galani

Wolfson College


Maritime history; business organisation of shipping and trading firms in the Mediterranean in the eighteenth century; the British Levant Company; agency theory.

Leigh Gardner

Dr Leigh Gardner

Formerly at Jesus College

Now lecturer at the London School of Economics

Leigh wrote her DPhil thesis on the economic history of the British Empire, with a particular focus on the fiscal policy of colonial administrations.

Laura Inglis

Dr Laura Inglis

Brasenose College


Early twentieth-century labour history, American economic history, experimental economics, law and economics.

Mark Koyama

Dr Mark Koyama

Formerly at Wadham College

Now lecturer at York University

Mark wrote his DPhil thesis on political economy, growth theory, and the application of game theory and contract theory to economic history. He now has a lectureship at the University of York.



Roberto Velez Grajales

Dr Roberto Velez Grajales

St Antony's College


Human development; convergence in human capital in Mexico; living standards in Latin America during the twentieth century.

Past M.Phil. students in 2008-10

Wells O'Byrne

Wells O'Byrne

Christ Church College

Economic sustainability; monetary systems.

Christopher Cowan

Christopher Cowan

Brasenose College

Russian foreign policy and economic history.

Andrew Lawson

Worcester College

andrew.lawson@history.ox.ac.uk


Timothy Nunan

Timothy Nunan

Corpus Christi College

Twentieth century European and Eurasian empires.

Niksa Spremic

Niksa Spremic

Exeter College

Medieval economic and social history; slave trade in the Mediterranean; Church history and theology.

Amol Verma

Amol Verma

St Hilda's College

Social and economic determinants of health; global health policy.

Shad White

Shad White

St John's College


Politics of market liberalism.

MSc in 2009-10


Vincent Hofer

Vincent Hofer

Linacre College

Agricultural trade.

Simon Holmes

Simon Holmes

St Catherine's College

Inter-war European growth and development.

Rob Konkel

Rob Konkel

St Anthony's College

History of HIV/Aids; development, colonialism, and the monetization of poverty.

Daniel Kremer

Daniel Kremer

Lincoln College

Welfare states and the global spread of neoliberalism.


Pauline Stern

Pauline Stern

St Hilda's College

Industrial regulation.

Dominic Taylor

Dominic Taylor

St Anne's College

Art markets.